top of page
  • Writer's pictureRinagil Isanan

Super Easy Do-It-Yourself Headshot For Freelancers



I always wanted to have nice photos of myself that I can use for my portfolio and my social media accounts. However, last year was a busy year for me that I never had the time to go to a photography studio to get headshots.


I think this new year, it is a duty for every freelancer to upgrade or give their portfolio a new look.


It doesn't matter whether you are hoping to get a new job or not. In my case, I do not have any plans to apply for a new job but I had lots of new skills that I earned last year. 


And with that, I have to update my portfolio and that requires me to upgrade my photos.

I'm a person who loves DIY stuff so today, I am sharing with you my super, easy, do-it-yourself headshot.


Professional Headshots for Freelancers


For any professionals, freelancer, model or author, headshots are portrait images that we use in our portfolio, resume, or 'about me' section of our website. It's part of our personal branding. 


In my line of work, I am often asked by my clients to review applicants and the first that always caught my attention is the headshot. Sometimes, I am so frustrated when freelancers use a blurry or un-professional headshot. 


Our photos are the best medium to convey who we are as freelancers. We should always maintain professionalism in our photos. Stop using photos as if you just get out of the bed or as if you are on a vacation. Use photos that show your professional side.


So, if you have no budget to hire a professional photographer or you simply like DIY stuff like me, simply follow the steps below.


How To DIY Your Headshots


1. Use a camera that can give you high-resolution images


I use an iPhone for this DIY photo session. First, its all that I have. Second, it so easy to use, edit and upload.


2. Choose your location


For the location, I chose a nearby old train station. I like it because it is old and it has these nice brick walls that I think will be great as a background. 


old train station for photo background

Choose a location that you think will give character to your images. It can be a cafe, library or office.


3. Let someone help you


It's difficult to take your own photos so it's nice to get someone's help and I couldn't find someone better than my husband. So, he is the one who took my photos and helps me with my poses.


For my makeup, I also did my own makeup. I choose natural shades for my photos.




4. Choose clothes that suit your personality


I choose the red color because I also changed my brand logo ( RIO Digital) this year and its in red hue as well. I suggest choosing clothes ( style and color) that suit your personality.


sample headshot for freelancers


Red is my favorite color and I think it is the color that stands out in any type of background. Red means passion and it signifies my passion for my work. And red also complements my skin tone.


I only use a pair of earrings. Personally, I don't use lots of accessories. I want to achieve that simple, professional and reliable look.


Professional Headshot


I did a lot of poses but I have a favorite one. I'm going to use this as my profile photo and on my portfolio.


rinagil isanan headshot

I believe this photo shows the real me and how I want people to see me. Simple and professional. I like how my gray hairs appear like highlights. I love my smile. I think this one perfectly shows the real me. 


I hope my super easy DIT headshot inspires you to change your headshot this year and I hope you get better photos. You can DIY it like me or simply head on the nearest photography services.


If you have other tips, feel free to comment.


Blessings!

7 views0 comments
bottom of page