top of page
  • Writer's pictureRinagil Isanan

How Your Freelancing Career Can Survive The COVID-19 Pandemic


How Your Freelancing Career Can Survive The COVID-19 Pandemic Featured Image


To date, my city is on its 3rd week of enhanced community quarantine. I just went out to buy some food and I can say that the supermarket is getting crazier! Some people are not following the anti-hoarding law and ended up leaving carts almost full. 

Meanwhile, some people are taking their time inside as if there's no long line of people waiting for their turn outside. Most of the ATMs that I pass through do not have money. 

When I heard the news of community quarantine/lockdown and people are requested to stay at home, I didn't worry much since I'm always at home as a freelancer. Working at home has been my lifestyle for several years now. I quit the corporate world since 2012.

I told myself, it gonna be fine.

But not until I heard stories from other freelancers that I had to think deeply. Some freelancers lost their jobs because their clients are affected by the coronavirus. Some have pending payments from clients and some are struggling to find a job.

I can say that with some businesses shutting down because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the freelancing industry is not an exemption. So, how can a freelancer survive this pandemic?

If you lose a client, or a client let you go because of the pandemic, there are some things I can share with you so you can survive and eventually thrive.

My goal is to help your freelancing career survive the coronavirus outbreak and its aftermath.

Ways For A Freelancer To Survive A Pandemic

  1. Scout For "The One" Client


Scout For "The One" Client Image

One of the things that I learned in my freelancing career is that not all clients are created equal. And for us to survive in this career is that ONE CLIENT who will not let us down. 

Yes, we've heard that many times, to work with so many clients as you can. But I'm not a firm believer of that because I value quality over quantity. Plus, I love sanity over money. Working with different clients all at the same time have trade-offs and I will not mention that in this blog.

But one thing that made me stay in this career is that ONE client that cares for me like family. And you too can find "The One".

I can say that probably 50% of the business owners ( this is just my own observation, not a definite number ) who scout for freelancers are those who are just testing the waters. They're just trying it out how to put up an e-commerce store or be an entrepreneur but they don't have the spirit and confidence of an ENTREPRENEUR.

But the other half, are entrepreneurs who know what business means. These are the clients, despite the pandemic, are still, confidently, running their business and boldy, getting on the waves and looking for opportunities. These are the small business owners who believe so much in their businesses and that nothing, even a pandemic, can put them down. 

Search for this kind of client because I'm telling you there are so many of them. They will take care of you the way they take care of their business.

2. Broaden Your Connection


Broaden Your Connection Image

It's high time to connect with the right people and there are plenty of ways to do that. Two of the ways I do to connect with other freelancers are below;

  • With Co-Freelancers


In this industry, you must connect with people in the related field and even in the same niche. If you're a content writer, introduce yourself and be a friend to a content writer or to someone who will need a content writer, like a web developer or a blogger.

You can easily do this by joining legitimate freelancing Facebook groups!

  • LinkedIn Connection


LinkedIn is, I think, the most ideal platform for us freelancers. You can meet a lot of people and you can easily determine if you have similarities with that person.

Your agenda is to connect and build relationships with real people. You're not going to send connections to ask them for work or spam them. Your goal here is to be surrounded by people who have the same vision and values as yourself.

3. Build Up Some Skills

Losing a client should not be the end of your world because you can surely find another. I'm telling you you'll never lose a client as long as you give a great output and establish an amazing relationship with your clients. Because even if a project ends, they will still contact you if they need your service again.

If your client cancels your freelancing service because of the pandemic, it's okay. If you know that your work is awesome, they will still contact you once they business resume.

To make the most of your time, build up some skills. I love learning new things and I keep on searching for new stuff even without a pandemic. Right now, I have a list of some amazing free courses and webinars. I do watch them if I have free time.

4. Market Yourself

This is the time that you 'apply' for work. Maintain that positive mindset and think that a client is looking for someone like you.

But before you do that, work on the following first.

  • Revisit your portfolio


Did you just finish an amazing project? Make sure you feature that in your portfolio.

  • Update Your Resume


What is your last client? Add that in your resume!

  • Rewrite your BIO


Write a new profile summary for your social media accounts. Be more creative. LinkedIn has an article that will show you the best practices in creating a profile summary or bio. Check it out here.

  • Replace your Headshot | Professional Photo


Yes, it is important! Always present your latest photo and make sure it looks very professional. Since finding a photography service can be difficult today, you can do-it-yourself. I wrote a blog that can help you DIY your headshot.

Finale

We don't know yet how long this pandemic will last but never lose faith in God. Continue to work on your portfolio, skills and never stop until you find "THE ONE". I truly believe that there' s success and a stable career in freelancing. Some hurdles will make all of us smarter and tougher.

I know that losing a client can lose your confidence and I'm sure it's pretty hard if you're supporting a family. Finding a client amid this chaos can be challenging as well. But, in this situation, a freelancer has to be more courageous and fight.

Have faith and trust yourself that your freelancing career can survive this pandemic.  

I might be sharing just 4 but if you have other ideas you can, of course, add that on this list through the comment section below.


15 views0 comments
bottom of page